top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

Whirlpool

Whirlpool


A tale of how I rebirth… Pandemic flourishing like the tsunami I take an exit in my world quietly; Forget about other worlds

Tranquility and alone

A long Pleasantville moment- away from the troubles and the chess game

I stand, lay eyes on the dispersion of water wave rhythmically many small birds gliding through the clear sky jovially

the sun brightens; everything is crystal and sharp

I stand, look at the lake quietly

Beauty grows warmth in me…

Silence…gentle…

…but then the water pulls apart; my heart starts to pound

oh no…the black hole appears

it spins faster and faster

A whirlpool! I am scared now

it swallows me into the whirlpool I wail noooo around, around, around

…dizzy..

Feel like forever

“HELP” I scream

then expel from the whirlpool into the sky.

I lost my flesh; become millions of particles floating in the air I can’t separate myself from them…

I feel everything; know their thoughts, know their next moves… No judgements, no hatred against the humankind

We all are in the apocalypse for a long time

This Pandemic isolates us back in our worlds; return to our selves

Until the Black Lives Matter movement pulls out our ego, our shadow sides…


Reevaluate ourselves… Who are we; who we want to be

to unite all of us… like no separation in the water…


Written by Tamyka Bullen

July 6th, 2020





48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page