top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

Universe Within


Firecrackers explode in the night

My feet are carried by the Ganga river

Feel the movement of the water tickling my toes

Lord Rama places the flower garland around my neck

Touch my auspicious feet with his hands; see through my soul

He offers puja for my mind and my soul in varmala

Namaste; he recognizes me no one else recognize me


Uptown I walk on the terrace of diyas lighten brightly

To the Mandir where his wife Sita dances, radiates delightedly outside

Telling the tale of how Lord Rama rescued her from Ravana

resilent, courageous, and determination

like the purified space inside the Mandir

No confusion, no stress, no loudness

Mandir is my womb where no words whisper inside my head

Silence…


Textures, flavour, odour, colours

stimulate my soul; enlighten my soul

Rangoli I bury my hands into colourful rices on the floor

Feel the rices clash

Smell the raw of rices

My hands create pictures, vibration, the dance in the air…


Lord Yama dresses me up in this flesh

Confinement, darkness…

Light-skinned Sita and the dark-skinned Durga pour sweet coconut milk on me

Bless me with Their love

Lord Kubera applies tilak on my forehead for wisdom

No Yamaraja see it, can’t pervert my Mandir.

I bow to them; Namaste

recognize the differences but I see your sameness too.


My third eye pierces through the darkness

My divinity cuts off the thorns, branches; make a path through the dense jungle

The darkness fuels my passion for change

I give a life, my soul raises from the Maya

…beyond the limitations

My death is my womb; my Mandir


Written by: Tamyka Bullen

November 2018



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page