top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

The Feverish Night

Updated: Feb 11, 2023

As an Outsider, I am standing in the night

Watching the abandoned house burning everybody speak loudly in patio English

It enraptures them as fireflies dance merrily

I don’t know what they say

I watch the smoking fades into the humid air

As an Outsider, I am in the land of many waters Walking through the bustling downtown guarding my bag tightly my loose clothes, my frizzy hair, my strange behaviours, mosquito bites Ah, my blood is not saturated with their tropical environment They know I am not from here

As an Outsider, I am wearing the wrong size of sandals

Unaware of noises I make when I walk

Slapping on bad roads happily my eyes widen with heavenly curiosity see many rompers I never had one later I learn they hear different music from stores As an Outsider, I ring the church a man opens the door; he asks what I want? “Hi, I want to meet other Deaf people. Can I enter?” Happily, our hands are flying in the air Learn some of their signs Men drive by and stare at us with a smiling curiosity

As an Outsider, I am sitting in the back of car I write to the driver why many streets don’t have name signs He is puzzled and replies, “Some streets” Ah, maybe this driver is somewhat illiterate many days go on; I learn that education is bad there Gesturing and lipreading I try my best to understand something more

As an Outsider, my auntie shows me the invitation to LGBT event I peep at the seemingly macho I stay quiet, nervous hopefully this man doesn’t know I’m bisexual A drunk topless woman carries a gun she boasts with a carnival pride Adults and children take pictures of her

As an Outsider, I am at the Midtown bar

Sitting with this gorgeous curvy butch woman writes a lot about herself; I like her Suddenly, we are on the Freak Show drivers laugh at us; enjoy seeing us doing unholy deeds I roll my eyes “Men!” As an Outsider, I am still watching the house fire Envisaging the earth goes through the fire for a perfect world so then I won’t be an Outsider I give a farewell to the Guyana Flag I hop on the airplane I watch the land becomes smaller, then water, then clouds




The Unicorn Zine interviewed me in this article: https://unicornzine.com/issue-007/speaking-in-silence-feverish-night/

Written by Tamyka Bullen

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page