top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

Red Lipstick

Bold as the red lipstick on my lips

make a pout-showing that I am the real

Not just a thing or a resource

I wear different clothes nor do I look like everybody else

You see my angst to tell you I am not a fake or a joke


No, don’t tell me I am a robot

Who decides to let the sperm and the egg to copulate, who makes

me?

Who? No one know who make me and you?!

You are not beyond important than me,

because you are here and I see you


I never meet you before;

but now I meet you and other people before you

You and me are different

I don't try to be someone else

so you know I am the real and I know you are the real


You don’t fool me with your charm because i am not charmed like you

bribe me with your gifts because I don’t give freely

you just forget we come with nothingness

But now I have things in me

My doings, my patience carry me through


Your popularity means nothing to me

Because I know it happens with my support and my dependence

Like a White headmaster molests a pretty Black slave

So I quit working with you FOR ME!

Thanks for your bossiness-my rude wakeup!


My confidence boosts!

because I LEFT YOU!

My diligence, patience, intelligence pay off Now I have more skills, more experiences AND not be so needy

My lipstick is so red, so red, so red as a bolder girl pouts at suckers

I don’t let people use me or stomp me until I am flattened

Hey no! I am real real real REAL!


AND I AM NOT YOURS!

Written by: Tamyka Bullen

October 2018






12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page