top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

My Journey

Updated: Dec 30, 2018

I created this website to pull folks into my world; to explore and to understand my journey. As you see I started writing poems and short stories when I was teenager. Writing is my therapy to share my soul to the universe and in exchange the universe gives me tools to lift my spirit from the darkness.

Before the writing; I did crafts when I was a toddler and became the permanent passion in me. When I entered the theatrical world, I realized that I could mingle my crafts, poetry, dance and acting into performances.

If you are puzzled that the universe has gifted me tools and here is the poem what the universe means to me:


Universe Within

Firecrackers explode in the night My feet are carried by the Ganga river Feel the movement of the water tickling my toes Lord Rama places the flower garland around my neck Touch my auspicious feet with his hands; see through my soul

He offers puja for my mind and my soul in varmala Namaste; he recognizes me no one else recognize me


Uptown I walk on the terrace of diyas lighten brightly To the Mandir where his wife Sita dances, radiates delightedly outside

Telling the tale of how Lord Rama rescued her from Ravana resilent, courageous, and determination like the purified space inside the Mandir No confusion, no stress, no loudness Mandir is my womb where no words whisper inside my head

Silence...


Textures, flavour, odour, colours stimulate my soul; enlighten my soul Rangoli I bury my hands into colourful rices on the floor Feel the rices clash Smell the raw of rices My hands create pictures, vibration, the dance in the air...


Lord Yama dresses me up in this flesh Confinement, darkness... Light-skinned Sita and the dark-skinned Durga pour sweet coconut milk on me

Bless me with Their love Lord Kubera applies tilak on my forehead for wisdom No Yamaraja see it, can’t pervert my Mandir. I bow to them; Namaste recognize the differences but I see your sameness too.


My third eye pierces through the darkness My divinity cuts off the thorns, branches; make a path through the dense jungle

The darkness fuels my passion for change I give a life, my soul raises from the Maya ...beyond the limitations My death is my womb; my Mandir


Written by: Tamyka Bullen November 2018

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page