top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

Mami Wata

I run away from the crumbling Babylon

Lawlessness as it is The kingdom is in the rule I do not see any holy items of women except the weeping mother Her blood is flowing She whimpers, "Go...Go...Go..." I run run run Arrive at the dock of the Stabroek Market I see a mermaid in the brown water She beckons me to come with her, "Come with me" Take the leap of faith; I jump My Mama holds me dearly and swims away


Written by: Tamyka Bullen November 2019





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page