top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestarrygirl45

Fly Higher

Updated: Mar 12, 2021

Low ceiling, I squeeze among the crowd in the route taxi

Sweating, panting

barely to breathe freely

Hurry, hurry, hurry

Can't wait to get out of the taxi,

Feel the soil beneath my feet again


I look at what people are doing with their private time on the taxi minivan

van stops

Young couple try french kiss but an old lady with the Bible locks the window coldly

She reads out the verse over and over no fornication!

Whoa, merciless


An Indian toddler crawls to a Black single mother with a Black child boy

All the sudden, an Indian father snatches his baby out of the Black boy’s hug

Then sneers at them; “You nigga”

The little boy cries, her mom consoles him closely


An old man sings jovially to cheer the little Black boy and the Indian baby.

Three teenagers join in the choir; mock at him

“His grandson fetched his false teeth into the toilet, his hair loss from grumpiness.

My adorable grumpy grandpa! Ha Ha”

The old man lowers his head sadly; heartbreaking…


A White man blows in my ears

I turn and see him

He licks his lips lasciviously

I lower my eyebrows in an angry fit

He crosses his eyes and calls me retarded


Big butch woman tries to get on the van but is kicked out by a man driver

Pushes her out

she falls and hits on the road

Bloodshed; sobs in grief

People crowd her, steal her wallet, her clothes,

Pull her gold teeth out

she is naked

they call her, “You fat dyke tramp”


Heart races, my hands shake, stomach tightens

FEAR

I unlock the door immediately, jump out

people become crabs inside the van, they push each another down


I approach Amerindian elder;

see a black cauldron

he smiles gracefully…

he hands me a small bowl of pepperpot; I eat it with respect

I bow slightly


Enter the Amazon forest wow…there are a lot of lanterns hanging among branches walk, walk, walk


A big turtle stomps on scoops me on her back and carries me to an enchanted city on the cliff a big sloth says… “There is no ceiling in the sky, nothing to block you you can be anything you want to be shining, these stars will rejoice with you go and fly like these birds


Free people!


https://akimbo.ca/akimblog/fly-higher-by-tamyka-bullen/



54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Read a Vessel Exhibition

After visiting Guyana, Tamyka Bullen wrote a poem, Fly Higher, describing a taxi ride that opened a window into the politics of a place. The taxi route became the vehicle to illustrate oppressive syst

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page